Insight, News, and Opinion by Nick Abramo
  • September 23, 2021
Get Out Of Dodge!! Johnnie Is Hawaii Gatorade Soccer Player of Year

Punahou’s Johnnie Dodge was named the Gatorade Hawaii Boys Soccer Player of the Year today, the Gatorade Company announced.


The award recognizes outstanding athletic excellence, high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character on and off the field.


Punahou’s Johnnie Dodge is headed to play for Sonoma State next season. (Photo from HUDL).


The 5-foot-8, 147-pound senior midfielder scored five goals with four assists and was a major part of the Buffanblu’s march to the Division I state championship. Dodge was a first-team Honolulu Star-Advertiser All-State choice this season after being selected to the second team a year earlier.


“Johnnie Dodge was the quarterback of their team and always did what Punahou needed,” Mike Ching, an assistant coach and former head coach at Kalani High School, said. “He really controlled the middle of the field and he anchored the whole defense with his play. He’s also a gifted play-maker and a lot of their offense started with him.”

Dodge maintained a 3.66 GPA in the classroom, according to a news release. He will play next season at Sonoma State.


Gatorade Hawaii Players of the Year

>> 2020: Johnnie Dodge, Punahou

>> 2019: Skyler Goo, Saint Louis

>> 2018: Alex Liu, ‘Iolani

>> 2017: Duncan McKenna, Punahou

>> 2016: Tyler Ohata, Punahou

>> 2015: Naia Graham, Kailua

>> 2014: KJ Ahlo, ‘Iolani

>> 2013: Leo Klink, Kalani

>> 2012: Leo Klink, Kalani

>> 2011: Scott Granger, Punahou >> 2010: Cody Sullivan, Mid-Pacific

>> 2009: Nick Goo, ‘Iolani

>> 2008: Zane Dycasco, Kamehameha

>> 2007: Kekoa Osorio, Kamehameha

>> 2006: Matt Terry, Saint Louis

>> 2005: Kirtus Adams, ‘Iolani

>> 2004: Darren Smith, Mililani

>> 2003: Tamatoa Hackney, Punahou >> 2002: Satoshi Mitsuda, Punahou

>> 2001: Travis Watanabe, ‘Iolani

>> 2000: Andrew Brown, Mililani

>> 1999: Kyle Fukuchi, Mililani

>> 1998: Tony Rania, ‘Iolani

>> 1997: Nathan Adams, ‘Iolani

>> 1996: Jonathan Fernandez, Maui

>> 1995: Braden Dela Cuesta, Aiea

>> 1994: Ben Villaflor, Aiea

>> 1993: Skye Vasconcellos, Pearl City

>> 1992: Jeff Lee, ‘Iolani

>> 1991: John Pak, Aiea

>> 1990: John Pak, Aiea

>> 1989: Mark Cornish, ‘Iolani

>> 1988: Chris Lee, ‘Iolani

>> 1987: Tu Ngonethong, ‘Iolani

>> 1986: Andrew Beckner, Punahou

Related Post

The Star-Advertiser’s Fantastic Annual Homage To The 12 Hawaii Hall

Every year, the Hawaii Hall of Honor inducts 12 high school senior athletes to its long list that began in

Former Waialua Six-Sport Athlete James Strong — A Man Of

When do customer service representatives actually run to help you out? Forest Gump would definitely do that, sir!!! And so

LATE SUMMER BUMMER: Hawaii DOE Postpones Football, All Fall Sports

Tell me it isn’t so. But no, it is so. The long-awaited high school football season that was supposed to

BREAKING!!!: HHSAA Chooses 12 Class Of 2021 Inductees To Hall

Every year the Hawaii High School Athletic Association chooses 12 inductees to the its hall of honor. COVID-19 didn’t wipe

VIDEO: 2021 Hawaii High School Athletic Association Hall of Honor

The 12 Hawaii High School Hall of Honor selections for 2021 did not get a banquet and ceremony this year

Reggie Torres Hired By Kamehameha As An Athletic Director

Reggie Torres golfed the last two days and enjoyed the relaxation. Good timing because, with the fall sports season approaching,

HHSAA Member Leagues Work On Tentative 2020-21 Athletic Schedule

The Hawaii High School Athletic Association and its member leagues met on Zoom on Monday to discuss how the 2020-21

ILH Spring Begins: Hawaiian Mission And Island Pacific Meet In

In one small way of looking at it, Hawaiian Mission Academy’s boys volleyball victory over Island Pacific Academy on Thursday

Marlboro’s John Winske Is A Kentucky Derby Winning Horse Owner

The name of the website you’re reading this story on is, but as lead writer, I have the ability to cater

Hawaii High Schoolers Jon Reiter, Tom Caps And Grace Monahan

This ain’t no party, this ain’t no disco, this ain’t no fooling around. — Talking Heads “Life During Wartime” —-

Sacred Hearts Rises To Top Of ILH Girls Sporter Air

Sacred Hearts continued its mastery of Interscholastic League of Honolulu sporter air riflery. The Lancers won the league championship for

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow us

Get the latest stories emailed to your inbox

Leadership coaching
Do you feel like an impostor being a leader?
Call Vince to book a free consultation.